Blogger Spotlight: Dial V for Vintage

Think you have a passion for vintage? See how it measures up to this blogger at Dial V for Vintage, who incorporates vintage not only into her wardrobe, but into all aspects of her life! I asked her to share some of her thoughts with us about vintage–check them out below, along with her blog, for some inspiration of your own! The coolest thing about this gal? She keeps her identity a mystery, leaving all the focus to the blog and its timeless contents.

When did you start collecting vintage?
That’s hard to say actually, I can’t really pinpoint an exact moment in my life. But I guess it was around the time I got interested in movies from the 1940’s and 1950’s, during my film studies. Women in those movies have such a great style and elegance, and they inspired me to go looking for similar clothing. I found little or nothing in high street stores so I went shopping in smaller vintage stores, with great success!

My fashion muse is…
… not limited to ‘one’ person. I would say Old Hollywood glamor is my main fashion inspiration, especially the movie stars in film noir. They were always dressed to perfection in those days, with attention to every detail. But I also like to infuse the 1940’s-1950’s style with some ingredients from subcultures like goth and rockabilly.

If you could choose any era to live in, which would it be?
A very tough question. I’d say: 1940’s or 1950’s, but my choice would be based purely on fashion grounds. Women in those days had not the same rights as they have now, and I would hate to live in an unemancipated society. So I guess I’m happy to live now, because you can choose how to live and how to dress, (mostly) without social restrictions.


Vintage and sustainability: how related are the two?
They go hand in hand! I think vintage is a very wise way to spend your money: you invest in a piece of history without giving your money to multinational brands who abuse people in their sweatshops. Vintage will survive most fashion whims and trends, and no new materials had to be used to make the clothing. It’s a very stylish form of recycling!

What do you do when you’re not blogging?
Blogging is and probably always will be just a hobby, so I spend most of my time at my day job. When I’m not sitting in the office, I do what everyone of you does: doing household chores, sewing and altering clothes, spending time with my boyfriend, watching movies and of course vintage shopping and thrifting!

Your all-time favorite vintage piece?
It’s not a piece of clothing, but it sure is vintage: my mounted fox from the 1950’s! Most people think it’s creepy but I love him!

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Blogger Spotlight: Dial V for Vintage

  1. Carys says:

    What a great interview, I love her blog!
    From Carys of La Ville Inconnue

Leave a Reply

