Blogger Spotlight: Sarah Brovda

Sarah Brovda, a student at Binghamton University, is a cyber celeb. She created a blog called 15 Minute Goddess a year and a half ago and it was an instant hit!

1. What inspired you to blog?

I’ve always been obsessed with fashion, beauty, magazines and blogs, and I even interned at a blog for almost a year, but I never really thought about starting my own until I interned at a PR firm two summers ago. Part of my ongoing responsibilities was to research fashion/beauty blogs to pitch to. By halfway through the summer, I had gone through literally hundreds of blogs and realized that they had taken all of my passions and found a way to intertwine them on their own terms.

But I also noticed that there weren’t a ton that were dedicated to college students who can’t afford to deck themselves in designers. So, halfway through the summer, I started 15 Minute Goddess. My goal was to provide a space where the average college girl could come and not drool over items that she would never be able to afford as a student, and also provide lifestyle advice from my own experiences.

2. In 10 years you would like to be…

Happy! I want to be living in NYC doing something I absolutely adore, hopefully in the fashion/beauty world.

3. Which celebrity do you feel that you relate to the most?

I’m not a big celebrity stalker, but the one celeb I seriously cannot get enough of is Lady Gaga. She’s beyond talented and every interview she does makes me tear up. How can you not be inspired by someone who’s so motivated?

4. Which city do you see yourself living in most? Why?

Definitely NYC! When I’m home on break I live and breathe the city. There’s nothing like it! The energy is unreal and everywhere you look, there’s inspiration. Plus, I can’t imagine living too far from my family in the long run.

5. How would you define your personal style?

I’m very simplistic: I love basics. Right now, I’m all about a great blazer, colored jeans, button-ups, fur coats and chunky sweaters. The one thing I can’t ever say no to, though, is leopard print. And I love shoes! I can’t buy expensive shoes while I’m at school, since they end up totally destroyed after a few nights out, but the second I graduate I’m investing in a hundred pairs of great shoes.

6. What’s in your make-up bag right now?

NARS bronzer in Laguna, NARS blush in Desire, MAC blush in Mocha, Illamasqua cream blush in Rude, MAC Technakohl Liner in Graphblack, Benefit “They’re Real!” mascara (the best mascara I’ve ever tried), Neutrogena Brightening Eye Perfector, Moroccan Oil, Tweezerman tweezers, and Sephora Walking On The Moon eyeshadow palette.

                                                  

7. What is your favorite store to buy all the looks for less at?

Forever 21, H&M, LULUs.com, NastyGal (they’re not the cheapest, but they have a few great steals), and Necessary Clothing.

8. One item that every woman should own.

Beauty-wise: a great mascara. Mascara is the one item of makeup you can put on that will make you look more awake and “done,” even if you have no time for anything else. Fashion-wise: a great fitted black blazer. It polishes up any outfit and you’ll use it constantly.

Mossimo – Women’s fitted blazer  – $20.98

9. One of your favorite beauty tricks when getting ready in a hurry.

If I have five minutes to get ready, I’ll moisturize my face, apply cover up where I need it, and put on mascara. I always want to look awake and refreshed, which, to me, means flawless skin and wide eyes.

10. Tells us something that not a lot of people know about you.

Hmm… I’m very sentimental! I’m not an overtly emotional person at all, but I hold on to anything special to me in a giant box in my room. I went through it recently and found postcards from my first summer at sleepaway camp in 2003 and some not-so-attractive pictures of my awkward phase(s). So yes world, I do have a mushy side!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Blogger Spotlight: Sarah Brovda

  1. […] you already may know, I was featured on Little Girls, Big Eyes in January, and ever since then, I’ve become obsessed with the blog. Alyssa, the […]

Leave a Reply

