Spotlight Interview: Ten Minutes with Marisa Geoffrey

As a California native but current resident of Iowa, Marisa Geoffrey uses her blog The Lion’s Threads to escape from, what she calls, the “Cornworld of the USA” to get her daily fix of fashion while giving others an insight into her personal life.  Here is the inside scoop about Marisa’s goals, her life in Iowa, and her secret fashion obsessions!

NE: What made you want to work in Fashion?

MG: This is a tough one. I have always been interested in fashion since I’ve been young. Overall, I guess not one thing “made” me want to go into fashion, but the events over the past years of my life have led me to fashion.

NE: What are the main focuses of your blog?

MG: I would say the underlying theme of The Lion’s Threads is Fashion, my personal style, and inspiration.

NE: Why “The Lion’s Threads”?

MG: My middle name “DeLeon” means “of the lions” and as an homage to myself and my love for making clothes, I named it The Lion’s Threads.

NE: Name your top three designers.

MG: Peter Dundas, Karl Lagerfeld and Alexander McQueen.

NE: Where do you see yourself in the 5 years?

MG: Hmm, by that time I would have graduated from College so , hopefully, I will be getting my foot in the door of either a Visual Merchandising or Styling job.

NE: Name a book that has inspired you.

MG: One of the recent books that has inspired me is called, “Secrets of a Stylist” by Sasha Charnin Morrison. I accidently stumbled upon it while I was shopping in Urban Outfitters. It gives you a real view of styling that you can’t get from watching shows like Rachel Zoe and It’s a Brad, Brad world. The way its written is so real and will pretty much kick your ass into the real world of styling once you read it.

NE: Would you rather be locked in a)Forever 21 b) Bloomingdales OR c)American Apparel ?

MG: The funny thing is that there is no Bloomingdale’s in sight here in Des Moines, Iowa. So, if I had to choose between Forever 21 and American Apparel, I would choose Forever 21. 

NE: Is there any item you are currently lusting over?

MG: Anything fringe. I currently have a fringe obsession that won’t be dying down anytime soon.

NE: Top 3 magazines you read?

MG: 1. NYLON- It mixes Fashion, Music, and Art; which I love!

2. Vogue -For my high fashion fix.

3. Marie Claire – It’s a basic fashion magazine that’s more for real world people and it is where I get most of my inspiration from.

NE: Would you rather splurge on a certain item because of its label or save on a look-a-like?

MG: Well, it depends on what exactly the item is. If it were shoes, I would for sure splurge.If it were a trendy style item like high-waisted shorts, I would save. I would rather splurge on something I love and not waste money on clothes that will go out of style in the next few seasons. Lets just say, I am always looking for a bigger bang for my buck!

To get more from Marisa check out her Tumblr!

You may also like: Ten Minutes with Swedish Style Blogger Jakob Andersson

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

